Thursday nights…

February 16, 2011

now sound promising:

Tons of fucking sequins

February 16, 2011

This is the best picture I took all weekend. Admittedly, I didn’t take many. I was to busy indulging in our favorite vices to care about my camera. But once my eyes fell upon such an amazing creature on the back patio of Pony I had to ask to snap his photo.

You wanna know why this kid is awesome? I will tell you.

1. He is wearing a mother fucking shiny sequin black vest.
2. He’s having a mother fucking good time.
3. When I asked to take his picture he said “wait,” unbuttoned the majority of his shirt and then told me he was ready.

I want to be his friend. Perhaps I should post him a missed connection on the theattle craigs-lisp page.

Do you think he might be the same kid from this video?

I sure do fucking hope so.

I promised I’d write this somewhat intoxicated (?) so here goes: Your phone makes you infinitely more unattractive.

Cool man, you got that cute new text message from that cute girl/boy/job/horoscope hotline/bandmate/talent scout/one night stand/roommate/roommates’ little sibling/coworker/petsitter/neighbor/landlord/pet/blogger/whocaresman, aren’t you here to be with your friends?

That guy in the bar stool? That’s your friend. You came to meet up with someone/anyone. I’ve worked in the service industry long enough to know that people can’t seem to sit alone at a table without a book or a goddamn phone, but when you’re with others? More than just rude, but a perpetuating system of loneliness. Let it go. Be wherever you are, with whoever you’re with, & so forth. Seeing a row of bar stools illuminated by the lights off their dim mobile phone screens is debilitating. What cool technology! What sad humanity.

I get it, sure. A quick message here or there, yeah. “I’m at this bar! Come meet up!” But when you spend the night hunched over a 3×2″ screen, perhaps all the liquor in the world won’t salvage your evening.