fish fry & oddfellows: ok, we were wrong

January 30, 2009

this may be our first retraction. it pains me so, but i honestly must. in fact, i have two retractions of previous declarations. DAMN.

my first pertains to a recent, unfair, opinion. unlike my original claim, oddfellows does not suck. in fact, it fuckin’ rocks. i brushed it off as another quinn’s, where my kind can barley scrounge enough cash for a double vodka soda. but no, no, no. oddfellows is youth/fuck-up/cheap-ass friendly. and that’s all i need.

oddfellows-breakfast-scene1

more importantly, the food is good and pretty normal. no bone marrow or quail involved and i can pretty much bring a twenty and eat like a queen.

i can’t decide if i like oddfellows for day or night better. i have now had three super duper experiences with the joint. the first was in the early afternoon. i sat with three of my girls, drinking stumptown coffee for over two hours (love you vita). they have wireless and don’t seem to mind when people set up camp. the second was sitting at the bar for breakfast. the coffeecake was so yummy i didn’t even care about my meal. but then it came and i ate the whole damn thing. and the third was last night. cheap(ish) red wine and cheese for less then 15 bucks. what a steal. the candlelight and friendly banter made me feel like it could be somebody having a dinner party at their apartment-but way better, obviously.

oddfellows-food

my second, much more delayed retraction relates to the fish fry. damn, it is so good. a little greasy? yes, in fact very, but when you are hitting up hap hour at the mother fuckin’ clubhouse there ain’t nothing better than deep fried veggies and tartar sauce. i wish i hated it, i wish i thought it was too expensive, but it holds its own.

dscn8573

i think the breakthrough happened one night when my go to lady and i discovered the special during moe bar happy hour. six bucks for a little fish n’chips. how could we resist?! it was well worth the buck-a-roos.

dscn8186

so, my point….looks can be deceiving and i formally apologize to oddfellows and the fish fry. both of you should plan on getting lots of my money in the coming months.

kiss and make-up? i think so.

thanks to joshc and initech_guy’s on flickr for the pics!

5 Responses to “fish fry & oddfellows: ok, we were wrong”

  1. trellis said

    Good to know that Oddfellows is fuck-up friendly. O_o

  2. pete said

    I don’t like seafood so I can’t comment on that part, but the fish fry’s fries are delicious. I love the place just for that.

  3. piojin said

    oddfellows breakfast sucks. I went in there with a hangover and left wanting TO DIE.
    but i am excited to try them at night.

  4. someone said

    Um. love what they’ve done to oddfellas. But I gotta say that I feel like Linda paid you to do that add. What sucks is about oddfellas is the money in my wallet. To pricey, won’t go.

  5. Tracy Bird said

    I HAVENT BEEN TO YOUR ESTABLISHMENT AND REALLY AM NOT COMMENTING ON THE FOOD. I AM A AN ODDFELLOW……

    A REAL ODDFELLOW NOT A RESURAUNT OWNER
    WE ARE STILL IN EXISTENCE AND I WASNT SURE IF YOU KNEW THIS? YOU ARE USING OUR NAME FOR YOUR PLACE, AND POSTING ODDFELLOW PHOTOS AS ADVERTISEMENT……..

    THIS IS DISRESPECTFUL TO A FRATERNAL ORGANIZATION AS OLD AS WE ARE .JUST BECAUSE YOUR BUILDING WAS NO LONGER IN USE, BY NO MEANS SAYS THAT THE I.O.O.F. DOSENT STILL EXIST AND PROSPER?

    I WOULD LIKE TO DISCUSS THIS WITH THE OWNER IF I MAY AS I WOULD LIKE TO INFORM YOU ABOUT WHO AND WHAT WE ARE AND HOW LONG WE HAVE BEEN IN EXISTENCE

    http://WWW.ioof.ORG

Leave a Reply

